About Us

Who We Are

Children’s Literature New England, Inc., is a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) established in 1987. Founding board members include Barbara Harrison and Gregory Maguire codirectors; Ethel and Paul Heins, Betty Levin, Jill Paton Walsh, and John Rowe Townsend. Virginia Golodetz, who served on the board for eleven years.

Members of the Board of Directors

Barbara Scotto, Co-director
Martha Walke, Co-director
Sarah Ellis
Nicole Griffin
Daryl Mark, Clerk
Elizabeth Partridge
Suzanne Fisher Staples

Barbara Harrison, Founding Co-director Emeritus
Gregory Maguire, Founding Co-director Emeritus

Honorary Board

Ashley Bryan
Susan Cooper
John Langstaff *In Memoriam
Jane Langton
Katherine Paterson
Maurice Sendak * In Memoriam
John Rowe Townsend *In Memoriam
Jill Paton Walsh

Advisory Board

Therese Bigelow
K.T. Horning
Kathy Isaacs
Jean Little
Joanna Rudge Long
Deborah Taylor
Tim Wynne-Jones

How You Can Help

Generally CLNE does not solicit funds or grants but is grateful for contributions to its scholarship fund, which helps teachers and librarians who work in disadvantaged or poor neighborhoods and districts to attend its programs.

For further information contact:

Martha Walke at walkem@sover.net
Barbara Scotto at bscotto@gmail.com

What We Do

In Addition to occasional free public lectures, the primary work of CLNE has been conducted through a symposium, colloquies and annual summer institutes.

Over the years, many luminaries in the world of children’s books have spoken at CLNE institutes. A sampling includes Sven Birkets, Quentin Blake, Eleanor Cameron, Tom Feelings, Virginia Hamilton, Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle, Penelope Lively, Margaret Mahy, Jan Mark, Patricia MacLachlan, Margaret K. McElderry, David McCord, Walter Dean Myers, Scott O’Dell, Philippa Pearce, Robert McCloskey, Maurice Sendak, William Jay Smith, Yoko Kawashima Watkins, Jane Yolen.

Click here for more information about our past and upcoming events & symposiums